top of page

Lessons from "Never Have I Ever"

Grief is a universal experience that touches the lives of every individual at some point. It can be an overwhelming and complex emotion, leaving us feeling lost and uncertain about how to navigate through it. Netflix's hit series, "Never Have I Ever," beautifully explores the themes of grief, loss, and the process of healing. By delving into the storylines of its characters, the show offers valuable insights into the different aspects of grief and provides a relatable narrative for those grappling with their own grief journeys. In this blog, we will explore the correlation between the series and the grieving process, highlighting the lessons we can learn along the way.

Acknowledging the Pain: One of the key aspects of grief depicted in "Never Have I Ever" is the importance of acknowledging the pain and allowing oneself to feel it fully. The protagonist, Devi, experiences the sudden loss of her father, which sends her spiraling into a sea of emotions. The series emphasizes the significance of not suppressing or avoiding grief but rather confronting it head-on. Similarly, in our own lives, it is crucial to acknowledge our feelings of loss and allow ourselves the space and time to grieve.

The Complexity of Emotions: Grief is not a linear process, and "Never Have I Ever" illustrates this complexity through its characters. Each character copes with loss in their own way, showcasing the wide range of emotions that accompany grief. From anger to guilt, sadness to denial, the show demonstrates that there is no right or wrong way to feel when grieving. It reminds us to be gentle with ourselves and understand that our emotional journey may be unique, just as it is for the characters in the series.

The Role of Support Systems: Throughout the series, we witness the importance of support systems when dealing with grief. Devi finds solace in her friends, family, and therapist, all of whom provide different forms of support. The show emphasizes the significance of leaning on others during difficult times, whether it's through seeking professional help or confiding in loved ones. It reminds us that we do not have to face grief alone and that reaching out for support can be instrumental in the healing process.

Finding Meaning and Moving Forward: While grief can be overwhelming, "Never Have I Ever" also highlights the significance of finding meaning and moving forward. Devi's journey involves discovering her own resilience, learning to honor her father's memory, and embracing her cultural heritage. The show demonstrates that amidst the pain, there can be opportunities for growth and self-discovery. It encourages us to find ways to honor our loved ones and channel our grief into positive actions, allowing us to create a new sense of purpose and continue living meaningful lives.

"Never Have I Ever" movingly portrays the complexities of grief, reminding us that it is a deeply personal and individual experience. Through its relatable characters and emotional storytelling, the series offers valuable lessons for navigating grief. By acknowledging our pain, embracing the complexity of our emotions, seeking support, and finding meaning, we can begin to heal and move forward. While grief may never completely disappear, we can learn to live alongside it, honoring our loved ones while embracing our own resilience. Remember, grief is a journey, and with time, patience, and self-compassion, we can find solace and hope for the future.

Recent Posts

See All


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page